top of page

NEWS

Search
  • amxwood

February 23 2021




Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute's "Summer Arch" program has allowed me to take a semester off from the classroom and given me the freedom of independent learning.


I've been practicing my skills in AutoCAD and Revit by working on my first solo studio project in a year. The project is a building at 3325 6th Avenue in Troy, NY; a project that I first did last summer with my studio partner, Erik Pedersen.


This time, I decided to take a different design approach, prioritizing the rehabilitation of the building. The joint design of this project over the summer had a somewhat more dramatic design directive, and I wanted to keep things a bit more practical on the second iteration.


I hope that this project will continue to be a learning experience as I work on refining it. To see how the project is developing, check out the schematic design phase drawing set I produced below!

210210_Schematic Design Phase Drawings
.p
Download P • 1.36MB

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Cultural Implications of Intelligent Virtual Assistants

Many industries are driven by pursuit of client comfort. What “comfort” actually means can be different for everyone, depending on both the industry and the client’s desire. Architecture is among the

Understanding Failure to Design Sustainably

Buildings come down all of the time. Some are simply not pretty enough for people, and get replaced with the newest trend. Some collapse from having poor structural integrity, like the condominium in

bottom of page